

Search Warrant Task Force
May 24, 2021
1:00 p.m. ET
Office of the Attorney General
1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 200
Frankfort, Kentucky

## **Minutes**

- I. Meeting Called to Order
  - a. The meeting was called to order by Attorney General Daniel Cameron.
- II. Roll Call
  - a. Members Present: Denise Bentley, Bryan Bogard, Phillip Burnett Jr., Foster Cotthoff, Charles Cunningham, Jeff Gregory, Nicolai Jilek, Ed Massey, Ramon McGee, Joe Monroe, David L. Nicholson, Damon Preston, Joseph Ross, Rob Sanders, Walt Sholar, Elizabeth Thomas, Whitney Westerfield, and George Wright
- III. Opening Comments
  - a. Attorney General Cameron provided opening comments.
- IV. Member Introductions
  - Members introduced themselves.
- V. Presentation
  - a. Luke Milligan, Professor of Law, University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, presented to the Task Force on the history of search warrants. The presentation was entitled "History of Warrants: Writs of Assistance, James Otis & the Right to be Secure."
- VI. Meeting Schedule
  - a. The Task Force agreed on the following meeting dates and locations for the remainder of 2021: June 21, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond, Kentucky; July 22, Kentucky Exposition Center, Louisville, Kentucky; August 11, Capital Complex East, Frankfort, Kentucky; September 14, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, Kentucky; October 11, Center for Rural Development, Somerset, Kentucky; November 15, Capital Complex East, Frankfort, Kentucky; December 9, 2021, Capital Complex East, Frankfort, Kentucky. All meetings will be held at 1:00 p.m. ET. Bentley made a motion to accept the proposed meeting dates. Bogard seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- VII. Committee Assignments
  - a. Securing Committee
    - i. Denise Bentley
    - ii. Charles Cunningham

- iii. Jeff Gregory
- iv. Nicolai Jilek
- v. Ramon McGee
- vi. David L. Nicholson
- b. Reviewing Committee
  - i. Foster Cotthoff
  - ii. Ed Massey
  - iii. Joe Monroe
  - iv. Damon Preston
  - v. Joseph Ross
  - vi. Rob Sanders
- c. Serving Committee
  - i. Bryan Bogard
  - ii. Phillip Burnett Jr.
  - iii. Walt Sholar
  - iv. Elizabeth Thomas
  - v. Whitney Westerfield
  - vi. George Wright
- d. The Attorney General read the committee assignments. Bentley requested to move to the securing committee. The transfer was made. To keep the committee numbers even, Sholar volunteered to move to the serving committee.
- VIII. Public comments
  - a. There were no public comments.
- IX. Sholar made a motion to adjourn. Bentley seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.